car talks & eternal sunshine.
11:12 p.m. & 2006-11-03

tomorrow, i'm going ice skating with a boy who calls me on his lunch breaks. tonight, i talked to the boy who will always be my best friend.

i'm just going to leave this, & smile at it.

"what?"

no, just drive.

"no, no, you tell me! you can't not tell me." (this is when we sit in the middle of the road, my truck parked, & we argue for a few minutes before he decides if we drive, he'll tell me)

you remember one night, back in january... we were talking about ice skating. do you remember that? ... well, i told you that i would take you, since you'd never been. i always thought i'd be the first one to take you.

we continue to talk, crawl into his driveway.

this will sound conceited, but... i always imagined myself to be the one to take you on your first date. all of that. i really did.

the funny thing is, i always did too. & when i started out of his driveway, all i could think was why weren't you?

you're already missed